CCTA History: A Continuation of His Story

Our beginning is inspired by Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability (ECFA), a US based accrediting organization for Christ-centered organizations that exists to help its members become responsible ministries by demonstrating a positive witness for Jesus Christ, and its strong biblical mandate to enhance trust in and among its member organizations in the United States and its partner organizations in many parts of the world.

The following organizations convened to form CCTA in September 2012 as a council that will act according to the standards of responsible stewardship and hold each other accountable to practice and act according to these God-honoring ethical principles.

  • Center for Community Transformation, Inc.
  • World Vision Development Foundation
  • Asian Theological Seminary
  • Philippine Council for Evangelical Churches
  • Christian Stewardship Association
  • Philippine Bible Society

The following individuals serve as CCTA’s incorporators:

  • Ruth Callanta – Center for Community Transformation, Inc.
  • David Dakanay – Christian Stewardship Association
  • Elnora Avarientos – World Vision Development Foundation
  • Zenet Maramara – Asian Theological Seminary
  • Angelito M. Gabriel – Christian Stewardship Association

When CCTA was organized, one of its first activities is to organize the standards of responsible stewardship which almost mirrored ECFA’s Seven Standards of Responsible Stewardship™. These standards are drawn from Scripture and are fundamental to operating with integrity.

Accountability to God is vital, but people form their impressions of both people and organizations by looking at the outward appearances (1 Samuel 16:7).

The basis for establishing ECFA and developing Seven Standards of Responsible Stewardship™ is stated clearly by the Apostle Paul in 2 Corinthians 8:21 (NIV):

“For we are taking pains to do what is right, not only in the eyes of the Lord but also in the eyes of men.”

Or, as the New American Standard puts it in verses 20 and 21:

“taking precaution that no one should discredit us in our administration of this generous gift, for we have regard for what is honorable, not only in the sight of the Lord, but also in the sight of men.”

The ECFA standards are infrequently changed, providing members a steady baseline for consistent application of the standards to members. The standards have been described as simple but not simplistic. The brief statements included in the standards have significant implications for organizations that pledge to follow these standards. They are not standards that allow for grading on the curve. Rather, they are pass-fail standards. ECFA members must comply with all of the standards.

With this background information and pattern for developing CCTA’s standards of responsible stewardship we were able to come up with our 7 Standards of Responsible Stewardship which are discussed below.